Developing Countries

Terms of reference:

The EMS Committee for Developing Countries (CDC) will assist developing countries (DCs) at the following levels:

  • Mathematics curriculum development for universities.
  • Cooperation with local staff in conducting MSc and PhD programs; holding special courses in various areas of mathematics in which there is no local expertise.
  • Helping to build up libraries through donations from colleagues in developed countries; supply mathematical literature upon request by institutions and/or individual researchers in DCs; negotiate with publishers on special book rates for DCs.
  • Helping to build up regional centres and networks of excellence: these are centres directly or connected in part to universities, and which provide expertise in areas and on levels in which regional universities are in need.
  • Providing information about where students from DCs (who already have an MSc) can do their PhD, and what possibilities for PhD grants exist. At the same time, in order to avoid a brain drain, as much as possible, CDC will support efforts to build up PhD programmes in DCs according to international standards (regional centres of excellence could serve this purpose).
  • Mobilising funds for junior and senior researchers to attend conferences in developed countries, and also help (both on an academic and financial level) organising conferences in DCs.

EC responsible member: Alice Fialowski, Email:

Committee home page

Chair: Michel Waldschmidt (Address)
Term of office: 2013-2015
Term: II
Vice-Chair: Giulia di Nunno
Term of office: 2014-2017
Term: II


Name Term of office Term Email
Leif Abrahamsson 2011-2014 I
Anna Fino 2009-2016 II
Gert-Martin Greuel 2013-2016 I
Giulia di Nunno 2014-2017 II
Joanna Teles 2014-2017 II
Ramadas Ramakrishnan Trivandrum 2014-2017 II
Paul Vaderlind 2014-2017 II
Fernando Rodriguez Villegas 2014-2017 I
Begonia Vitoriano 2009-2016 II
Michel Waldschmidt 2012-2015 II
Anders Wandahl 2007-2014 II

Past Members

Name Term of office Terms Email
Andreas Griewank 2005-2012 II
Michel Thera 2005-2012 II
Tsou Sheung Tsun 2005-2012 II